DinoData Logo

When you want to dig for dino data!

Dinosaurs Paleontologists Media Contact
Flag of United Kingdom

CIA World Factbook


Flag of United Kingdom - CIA World Factbook

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Population: 65,000,000

Area (sq km): 243,610

Capital City: London

National Holiday: No national holiday

The UK is a monarchy ruled by Queen Elizabeth II, consisting of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales. Formerly a member of the European Union, the UK had a referendum in 2016 to leave the EU, referred to as 'Brexit'.

The UK doesn't have a national holiday, as they're one of the only countries in the world that has not become independent from another nation, as most nations gained their independence from the UK.

The flag of the United Kingdom, known as the Union Jack, is a combination of the flags representing the patron saints of three of the four countries making up the UK. The blue and white is for Saint Andrew of Scotland, the diagonal red cross for Saint Patrick of Ireland, and the red cross for Saint George of England.

The name of "Great Britain" was used since mideval times when it was used to differentiate the island from Brittany in France, which was referred to as "Little Britain". Ireland, as with the independent nation of Ireland, is named after the matron goddes of Ireland, Eriu.

Have any dinosaurs been discovered in United Kingdom?

Find Out!